Arizona Drunk Driving Laws - AZ DUI/DWI Penalties - Extreme DUI - Aggravated DUI
Close to 700 people die every year on Arizona roads as a result of drink driving. In hopes of reducing these tragedies, authorities work hard to enforce strict DUI laws in Arizona. Just one crash resulting from a DWI in Arizona can cost more than $3 million to clean up. This amount includes the cost of emergency crews, wear and tear on the emergency vehicles and medical costs for care of the injured
Arizona Drunk Driving Law Basics
First, it's important to note that per Arizona law, iYou also cannot drive after taking an illegal substance. If you're pulled over and your BAC is 0.05%, the arresting officer has the right to consider the fact that you may have been legally intoxicated when you got behind the wheel.
Sentencing for a First AZ DUI/DWI Penalties for Conviction
With your first Arizona DUI, you receive a minimum sentence of ten consecutive days. This minimum sentence will not be suspended nor will you be offered probation. If you receive an extended sentence (more than 10 days), the judge may offer you a chance to reduce that extra time by completing a court-ordered alcohol awareness program.
Fines for a first offense DUI start at $250 and you will pay an additional minimum $500 into a special Public Safety Equipment Fund. You also lose your license for 90 days.
Community service is up to the judge's discretion. The judge will order you to have an ignition inter-lock device installed in your vehicle to prevent you from getting another DUI.
Second Driving Under the Influence Conviction in Arizona
If you get a second DUI conviction within seven years, you will spend a minimum 90 days in jail, 30 days must be consecutive. In addition, your fine will be a minimum $500, plus an extra minimum $250 to go into the Prison Construction Fund and minimum $250 to go into the Public Safety Equipment Fund.
You will be required to serve 30 hours of community service and you lose your license for a full year. An inter-lock device will be installed on your ignition system.
Aggravated DUI in Arizona
Charges of aggravated DUI occur in Arizona when you drive drunk:
- With a child under the age of 15 in your vehicle
- When you are convicted of a DUI with a suspended license
- When have at least two AZ DUI convictions in five years
- When your DUI leads to serious injury or causes another person's death
Laws Regarding Extreme DUI or Super Extreme DUI in Arizona
If you are caught with an extreme DUI blood alcohol reading of 0.15 to 0.20, you will serve a minimum 30-day consecutive jail sentence. If the BAC is higher than 0.20, you will serve 45 days consecutive. There are no suspended sentences with extreme or super extreme DUI regardless if it is your first offense.
Fines of at least $250 are mandatory. In addition, you pay an additional minimum $250 into the Driving Under the Influence Abatement Fund, at least $1,000 into the Public Safety Equipment Fund and another $1,000 into the Prison Construction and Operations Fund. Community service, if any, is decided by the judge.
If this is your second extreme DUI offense within eight years, you will serve a minimum 120 days, 60 must be served consecutively. Your base fine starts at $500. You will pay a minimum $1,250 into the Prison Construction and Operations Fund and minimum $1,250 into the Public Safety Fund. This second extreme DUI goes on your record as a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
If you're charged with a super extreme DUI (BAC of higher than 0.20), expect to spend a minimum six months behind bars for a second offense or a minimum 45 days for a first offense.