DUI Fort Collins Defense Attorney - Drunk Driving Lawyer CO
Have you been arrested recently for a DUI in Fort Collins, CO or Larimer county? It is important that you find an attorney that specializes in DUI cases, not just criminal law. If you have been arrested, and found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) on or above the legal limit, it is imperative you contact a lawyer immediately.
In the state of Colorado, if you are pulled over under suspicion of driving under the influence, you can be arrested and charged with a DWAI (driving while ability impaired) even if you are under the legal BAC limit of .08. Colorado bases their licenses on a point-based system. A 12-point offense will result in the suspension of your license. However, it is important to note that if you are arrested and charged with a DWAI, it is only an 8-point offense.
A DUI is treated as a criminal case, with the immediate confiscation of your driver’s license and is only resolved with lawyers in a courtroom. A DWAI is when the driver of a vehicle tests positive with a BAC of .05 to .799. Suspension will only occur if you have other violations against you on your license. Otherwise, a DWAI offense is treated as a civil case and involves your county DMV.
Reliance Legal Services, LLC.
Based out of Fort Collins, CO, Reliance Legal Services is a well-known, trusted law firm that specializes in DUI related offenses. Whether your charge is a DUI or a DWAI (driving while ability impaired), both are recognized as serious offenses. Without the proper legal advise and guidance, you could potentially face jail time if convicted.
If in the last couple days you have been arrested for a DUI or DWAI, you must immediately hire a lawyer. If your license was temporarily suspended until your court date at the time of your arrest, you have only 7 days from the time of notification of suspension to file for a temporary license. Reliance Legal Services will offer you the aggressive legal defense and personalized services you may need.
Reliance Legal Services, LLC.
Fort Collins, CO. (303) 495-5218
New 2010 DUI LawsColorado
HB10-1347 - Effective July 1st, 2010
Mandatory Minimum Imprisonment and Restrictions for Repeat Offenders. Imposes a Ten Day Minimum Jail Sentence for a Second Offense and a Sixty Day Minimum Jail Sentence for Third and Subsequent Offenses. To learn more about Colorado DUI Laws please visit the link below.
Colorado DUI Laws - On DrivingLaws.org
1st Colorado DUI Offense
First Drunk Driving Conviction
Blood Alcohol Content .08 or Above
- 1st DUI
- Jail – From 5 Days to 1 Year
- Fine - From $600 - $1,000
- License Suspension – 9 Months
- License Points – 12
- Public Service – From 48 to 96 Hours
- Jail May be Suspended in Lieu of Alcohol Treatment Program
1st DWAI Offense
First Driving While Ability Impaired
Blood Alcohol Content of .05 But Less Than .08
- 1st DWAI
- Jail – From 48 Hours to 180 Days
- Fine – From $200 to $500
- License Suspension – None
- License Points – 8
- Public Service – From 24 to 48 Hours