DUI Colorado - DUI Laws - Drunk Driving Penalities - Arrest and Felony
There are very serious charges that one may be arrested for as a result of driving while under the influence. DUI Colorado laws are very strict, and the penalties can be very serious if not properly represented in a court of law. Nearly half of all traffic related deaths involve alcohol in the state of Colorado.
Two common charges as a result of driving under the influence:
DUI (Driving Under the Influence):
Being charged with a DUI in the state of Colorado is very serious. To be charged with a DUI in Colorado, you must have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher.
DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired):
A DWAI is a traffic violation in whilch the driver tested positive for alcohol with a BAC of .05 through to .07.
The effects of a DUI on your license:
Colorado DMV and local law enforcement , base their license penalities on a point system. A DUI carries a 12 point penalty to the drivers license. If a driver has 12 or more points against him or her on their license, suspension is immediate.
First DUI Offense
Suspension: Even if you have just recieved your first DUI, upon being charged at the time of your arrest, your license is immediately suspended until further notice. Suspension may stay intact for as long as 1 year if court ordered.
Fines: You could face fines from $300, all the way up to $1000. The price of your fine is determined by the ammount of times you have been charged witha DUI, and the resulting aftermath of your intoxication behind the wheel of a vehicle.
Incarceration: The possibility of incarceration is serious, and very probable. You may only serve a short stay of only 5 days, but could face up to 1 year, or 365 days of incarceration if the courts see fit.
Community Service: You could also potentially have to complete 48 to 96 hours of community service. Your place of community service would be determined by the state prosecutor and judge to where seen fit, and also decided upon an individual basis.
Rehabilitation: You could face anywhere from 3 to 9 months in alcohol education classes, or in a treatment facility that specializes in alcoholism and addiction..
Other options by the court for failure to obey Colorado DUI laws:
If a repeat offender, the state of Colorado holds the right to impose an ignition inter-lock system in your vehicle. An ignition inter-lock system is a device that is installed in the offenders vehicle. This device requires the driver of the vehicle to administer a breath test before the vehicle will start. If any alcohol is detected in the breath test, the vehicle will not start.
New 2010 DUI LawsColorado
HB10-1347 - Effective July 1st, 2010
Mandatory Minimum Imprisonment and Restrictions for Repeat Offenders. Imposes a Ten Day Minimum Jail Sentence for a Second Offense and a Sixty Day Minimum Jail Sentence for Third and Subsequent Offenses. To learn more about Colorado DUI Laws please visit the link below.
Colorado DUI Laws - On DrivingLaws.org
1st Colorado DUI Offense
First Drunk Driving Conviction
Blood Alcohol Content .08 or Above
- 1st DUI
- Jail – From 5 Days to 1 Year
- Fine - From $600 - $1,000
- License Suspension – 9 Months
- License Points – 12
- Public Service – From 48 to 96 Hours
- Jail May be Suspended in Lieu of Alcohol Treatment Program
1st DWAI Offense
First Driving While Ability Impaired
Blood Alcohol Content of .05 But Less Than .08
- 1st DWAI
- Jail – From 48 Hours to 180 Days
- Fine – From $200 to $500
- License Suspension – None
- License Points – 8
- Public Service – From 24 to 48 Hours