DUI Connecticut - DUI Laws - Drunk Driving Penalties - Felony

Pay close attention to DUI Connecticut laws. Connecticut law enforcement have little tolerance for impaired drivers and make every effort to penalize those who risk the lives of themselves and others when driving while impaired. You're considered legally intoxicated with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Those under 21 are legally intoxicated with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher.

Connecticut Implied Consent DUI Laws

Drunk driving penalties in CT start at the Implied Consent Law. Connecticut law dictates that anyone driving in this state gives implied consent to have your BAC tested if you're pulled over and the officer suspects you've been drinking. Should you refuse any blood, breathalyzer or urine test, you will be charged with refusal and penalties are fierce.

With a first offense refusal, you lose your license for a specific period of time. The penalties are:

  • 6 months (over 21)
  • 12 months (18 to 20)
  • 18 months (Younger than 18)

Second refusal offense:

  • 12 months (over 21)
  • 2 years (18 to 20)
  • 3 years (Younger than 18)

Third refusal offense:

  • 3 years (over 21)
  • 6 years (20 or younger)

Drunk Driving Penalties Regarding License Revocation for Underage Drivers

Underage drivers face tougher penalties for DUI in Connecticut. If your convicted of a CT DUI and you are younger than 18, you lose your license for:

  • 1 year (First offense)
  • 2 years (Second offense, BAC between 0.02 and 0.15 percent)
  • 30 months (Second offense, BAC over 0.15 percent)
  • 4 years (Third offense, BAC between 0.02 and 0.15 percent)
  • 5 years (Third offense, BAC over 0.15 percent)

Drivers between the ages of 18 and 20 who are charged with DUI Connecticut face the following license suspensions:

  • 6 months (First offense, BAC between 0.02 and 0.15 percent)
  • 8 months (First offense, BAC over 0.15 percent)
  • 18 months (Second offense, BAC between 0.02 and 0.15 percent)
  • 20 months (Second offense, BAC over 0.15 percent)
  • 4 years (Third offense, BAC between 0.02 and 0.15 percent)
  • 5 years (Third offense, BAC over 0.15 percent)

CT Drunk Driving Penalties Regarding License Revocation for Drivers 21 and Older

If you are 21 or older, DUI Connecticut penalties differ from those applied to underage drivers. Note that before you can restore your driver's license after a second or subsequent CT DWI/DUI conviction, Connecticut DUI laws require you to complete a substance abuse treatment program. Driver's license revocation time periods are as follows:

  • 3 months (First offense, BAC 0.08 to 0.16 percent)
  • 4 months (First offense, BAC higher than 0.16 percent)
  • 9 months (Second offense, BAC 0.08 to 0.16 percent)
  • 10 months (Second offense, BAC higher than 0.16 percent)
  • 2 years (Third offense, BAC 0.08 to 0.16 percent)
  • 2.5 years (Third offense, BAC higher than 0.16 percent)

Fines and Jail Sentences for CT DUI

In addition to losing your driver's license. First time offenders, face up to 6 months in jail. 48 hours of your jail sentence is mandatory or you can agree to perform 100 hours of community service in lieu of the mandatory jail sentence. You will be fined between $500 and $1,000.

With a second DUI CT offense, you face 2 years in jail. You must serve a minimum 120 days in jail is mandatory and you will be required to complete 100 hours of community service. Fines range from $1,000 to $4,000.

A third DUI Connecticut offense leads to fines of $2,000 to $8,000. You will be sentenced to 3 years in jail, a year of that is mandatory and also perform 100 hours of community service.

Second and subsequent Connecticut DUI/DWI convictions also require you to use an ignition interlock device for two years. You pay for the installation and maintenance on that ignition interlock device.

Connecticut Felony DUI

You will be convicted of felony DUI if you charged with three DUIs or more in a period of 10 years. You can also be charged with felony DUI in Connecticut if you are convicted of manslaughter or assault after causing an DUI related accident.

Jail time for CT felony DUI ranges from 10 to 20 years if the accident you've caused lead to another person's death. If you caused an accident that seriously injured another person, you can go to jail for 5 to 10 years.

First Drunk Driving Offense

  • Jail – 48 Hour Minimum up to 6 Months
  • Community Service – 100 Hours if Jail Suspended
  • Fine – From $500 to $1,000
  • License Suspension – 1 Year
  • Complete Substance Abuse Treatment Program
  • Vehicle Towed and Impounded for 48 Hours

Copyright 2004-2015 S&T US LLC

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

 


    DUI - Connecticut

    DUI - Alabama

    DUI - Alaska



    DUI - California



    DUI - Florida

    DUI - Georgia

    DUI - Hawaii

    DUI - Idaho

    DUI - Illinois

    DUI - Indiania

    DUI - Iowa




    DUI - Maine

    DUI - Maryland

    DUI - Massachusetts

    DUI - Michigan

    DUI - Minnesota

    DUI - Mississippi

    DUI - Missouri

    DUI - Montana

    DUI - Nebraska


    DUI - New Hampshire

    DUI - New Jersey

    DUI - New Mexico

    DUI - New York


    DUI - North Dakota


    DUI - Oklahoma


    DUI - Pennsylvania

    DUI - Rhode Island

    DUI - South Carolina

    DUI - South Dakota

    DUI - Tennessee

    DUI - Texas

    DUI - Utah

    DUI - Vermont

    DUI - Virginia

    DUI - Washington

    DUI - West Virginia

    DUI - Wisconsin

    DUI - Wyoming

    Legal Links
  • POA State Laws
  • Identity Theft
  • Mesothelioma


©2004-2015 Wise4Living | Contact | Advertising Info | Legal | Privacy | Directory

Name Change - POA - Divorce - Divorce Attorney - Last Will - LLC - Incorporation

Divorce Education Center