DUI DWI Lawyer - Drunk Driving Attorney - Laws and Penalties Kansas

Like all other states in our country, if you are found to be driving under the influence in the state of Kansas, you will have penalties and repercussions for your actions. Like in all other states, a motor vehicle may NOT be operated legally if a person has a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of .08 or higher. There are also penalties if a person found in this state of incoherence is driving with a minor in the vehicle.

Other Charges Beyond a DUI

You may be charged with more strictly with involuntary manslaughter in the state of Kansas if you have been found to commit this crime. This new law for involuntary manslaughter was made effective as of July 1, 1996, that stated that if a person is found guilty, they MUST serve a minimum sentence of 38 to 172 months in prison.

There is also another charge to be aware of in Kansas that was passed. This law protects any minor under the age of 14 from damage either physically or mentally (depending on the circumstances of the arrest). If a person is found guilty of drunk driving while a child under the age of 14 is in the motor vehicle, the guilty person MUST serve an enhanced punishment of 1 month on top of the original sentence, and must be served consecutively.

First Guilty DUI Offense

Mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail OR 100 hours of community service
Participation AND completion of drug and/or alcohol education
Minimum fines between $500 and $1000
30 day driving suspension
330 driving restriction
Vehicle may be impounded for up to 1 year

Second Guilty DUI Offense

Mandatory minimum of 90 days to 1 year in prison
Minimum fines between $1000 and $1500
1 year driving suspension
Ignition Inter-lock device may be installed for up to 1 year after suspension is completed
Vehicle may be impounded for up to 1 year

Third Guilty DUI Offense

Charged with a FELONY
Mandatory minimum of 90 days to 1 year in prison
Minimum fines between $2500 and $2000
Participation AND completion of court ordered treatment program at own expense
1 year driving suspension
Ignition Inter-lock device installed for 1 year after suspension is completed
Vehicle may be impounded for up to 1 year

Fourth Guilty DUI Offense

Charged with a FELONY
Mandatory minimum of 90 days to 1 year in prison
Minimum fines between $2500 and $2000
Participation AND completion of court ordered treatment program at own expense
1 year driving suspension
Ignition Inter-lock device installed for 1 year after suspension is completed
Court may revoke persons license plate OR temporary registration for 1 year
Supervision for 1 year following release
Vehicle may be impounded for up to 1 year

Fifth and Subsequent DUI Offenses

Charged with a FELONY
Mandatory minimum of 90 days to 1 year in prison
Minimum fine of $2500
Driving privileges permanently revoked
Participation AND completion of court ordered treatment program at own expense
Vehicle may be impounded indefinitely

Copyright 2004-2015 S&T US LLC

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

 



    DUI - Alabama

    DUI - Alaska



    DUI - California




    DUI - Florida

    DUI - Georgia

    DUI - Hawaii

    DUI - Idaho

    DUI - Illinois

    DUI - Indiania

    DUI - Iowa



    DUI - Maine

    DUI - Maryland

    DUI - Massachusetts

    DUI - Michigan

    DUI - Minnesota

    DUI - Mississippi

    DUI - Missouri

    DUI - Montana

    DUI - Nebraska


    DUI - New Hampshire

    DUI - New Jersey

    DUI - New Mexico

    DUI - New York


    DUI - North Dakota


    DUI - Oklahoma


    DUI - Pennsylvania

    DUI - Rhode Island

    DUI - South Carolina

    DUI - South Dakota

    DUI - Tennessee

    DUI - Texas

    DUI - Utah

    DUI - Vermont

    DUI - Virginia

    DUI - Washington

    DUI - West Virginia

    DUI - Wisconsin

    DUI - Wyoming

    Legal Links
  • POA State Laws
  • Identity Theft
  • Mesothelioma


©2004-2015 Wise4Living | Contact | Advertising Info | Legal | Privacy | Directory

Name Change - POA - Divorce - Divorce Attorney - Last Will - LLC - Incorporation

Divorce Education Center