DUI DWI Lawyer - Drunk Driving Attorney - Laws and Penalties Nevada
A DUI/DWI driving offense in Nevada, as well as many other states, can be very time consuming, tricky, and inconvenient. There are many penalities that states can impose. They include fines, treatment or jail time .
A DUI/DWI driving offense in Nevada, as well as many other states, can be very time consuming, tricky, and inconvenient. There are many penalities that states can impose. They include fines, treatment or jail time
For all states, including Nevada, once you are registered a driver’s license at your states DMV, you are aggreeing to your states’ implied consent laws. This means that if you are driving and suspected of being under the influence of either drugs or alcohol, you are required to concede to either a breath, blood or urine test.
Your BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) and field sobriety tests are what police officers depend upon to determine intoxication. In Nevada, in order to obtain a DUI/DWI offense, the person operating the vehicle must not be .08 or higher. If a breathalizer test is used at a traffic stop in Nevada, and the vehicles operator has a BAC of .08 or higher, he/she will be under penalty of the law.
Such penalties for DUI/DWI Nevada cases include license suspension, vehicle confiscation, ignition interlock options, treatment, and jail time. With license suspension also comes minimum mandatory penalties for drivers.08 or higher BAC, or for refusal to submit to the implied consent laws of their state.
Offenders’ in Nevada for DUI/DWI related cases carry mandatory minimums. First time offenders will recieve a 90 day suspension; second time offenders recieve 1 year suspension; three or more offenses may recieve up to three years of suspension. However, one may restore driving privledges after 45 days if able to properly demonstrate special hardship at the loss of driving privledges (i.e. single parent that cannot do basic needs for children due to lack of vehicle use).
Nevada’s traffic laws surrounding DUI/DWI related offenses are hardly strict in comparison to other states. For example, Nevada does not impose Enhanced Penalty Laws, Revocation Penalties or Ignition Interlock options.
Often, instead of fines or jail time, DUI/DWI offenders in Nevada will often be recommended for treatment surrounding alcohol or drug abuse. Treatment includes schooling on abuse, prevention programing, and often assessments for possible dependancy of drugs or alcohol