DUI DWI Gresham Lawyer - Drunk Driving Attorney - Laws and Penalties Oregon
Like many other cities throughout Oregon, Gresham carries along the frustration of local communities battles against drunk driving. Thankfully for the public, law enforcement is able to penalize those who drive under the influence in all counties in the USA, as well in Oregon. Gresham DUI laws are not so different to those in the rest of the state of Oregon. In fact, they are actually almost completely identical. However, the only difference really, is the public choice of DUI lawyers who specialize in DUI and other driving charges.
James F. O'Rourke Jr. & Associates, Attorney at Law
"Mr. O'Rourke and his staff work as a team for you"
This is his slogan, and apparently very true to his word as well. Though not the largest law firm in Gresham and surrounding cities, Mr. O'Rourke's law firm is very well established in the Gresham region. He believes that in every DUI case, there are four possible areas that he and his clients have the ability to fight and win. These include:
The Law Offices of James F. O'Rourke operate mostly in Portland, Gresham and Oregon City, Oregon. He feels it is of utmost importance that his clients understand the difference between proper and improper search and seizure procedures conducted by police. These procedures include the rights of the law enforcement to stop a vehicle; search a vehicle; conduct field sobriety tests; and administering either breath, blood or urine tests to indicate the BAC (blood alcohol content) or the driver.
Sometimes, lawyers are often asked many questions surrounding the rights of the arresting officers, as well as their own surrounding their most recent arrest for DUI. It is important to remember that you can be arrested for not agreeing to submit to a breath test. This calls for the officer to obtain the right to immediately confiscate your driver's license.
Another crucial bit of information to remember and keep in mind, is the siginificance and important of timing after your arrest. In the state of Oregon you have only 10 days to apply through a private defense lawyer for a temporary drivers license up until the date of your final court date- sentencing. Also, you only have 30 days from the time of your arrest to find out if you are eligible for a diversion program.
James F. O’Rourke Jr. & Associates